Asian Fish Sandwich & Five Spice Fries

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

According to my husband, this meal “had to be shared with the world”!! During lent, I try to make sure that I don’t serve meat on Friday out of respect for my husband’s catholic upbringing. I try to come up with creative ideas so we don’t get burnt out on fish sticks and french fries. So, I decided to make a fish sandwich and fries with an asian flare.

To start, first thing in the morning, I cut four large haddock filets into manageable size pieces. They went into a gallon size ziplock bag with about two tablespoons of olive oil, a pinch of sea salt, and a liberal amount of chinese five spice. If you aren’t familiar with five spice, you should try it! It is a chinese spice mix made up of bajiao (star anise), cloves, cinnamon, huajiao (sichuan pepper) and ground fennel seeds. It is a truly unique mix. Make sure to mix the bag well to coat the fish evenly.

Next I made the slaw to go on top of the sandwich. I used one bag of cole slaw mix (eight ounces I think). To this I added a few tablespoons of veganaise (I like the grape seed one, or you could use mayonnaise), a quarter cup or so of honey ginger white balsamic vinegar (there is no substitute for this one!!), pinch of sea salt, and a few generous shakes of aji nori furikake (seaweed and sesame seed mix).

The fish in its marinade and the slaw went into the fridge to allow the flavors to marry for the day. A few scallions also got chopped up to put on top of the sandwiches and went in the fridge in a small container.  The meal is halfway done and I haven’t even left for work yet!

When I got home from work, I preheated the oven to 375*. Then I sliced up four or five yukon gold potatoes. These are by far my favorite potato! Love the texture and flavor. I don’t think they are quite as starchy as other potatoes. By all means, substitute your favorite potato. I sliced them fairly thin, but if you like thicker fries, go for it. The potatoes got tossed with chinese five spice and sea salt and placed in a single layer on a parchment paper lined (easy clean up) cookie sheet. They went in the oven on the bottom shelf for forty-five minutes until they were nice and crispy.

About a half hour into the cooking time for the french fries, the fish got put onto a baking sheet (also parchment paper lined) of its own and placed on the top shelf of the oven. The fish only needs about fifteen minutes or it will dry out!

When everything comes out of the oven, the sandwiches can be made. Roll of choice, some of the fish, topped with the slaw and some scallions. The five spice fries get served up on the side. I lost count of how many times my hubby said “this is REALLY good”….which means it was a good meal!

 

About Melissa's Menu

Self-taught home cook. I love being in the kitchen, it brings me happiness and joy. In the kitchen, I can relax and let my creativity flow. View all posts by Melissa's Menu

Leave a Reply

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Vegan Needs

Vegan Lifestyle. Vegan beauty, Food, Reviews & More

Serena Glow - health, vitality and food

Health, eating for abs, fitness, natural beauty secrets

Kelly's Nutrition Corner

Nutritious food with a delicious taste!

Fly 'n Cook

Cooking can be as much fun as Flying!

The Sister Slice

We can't do it all but we do a lot… here's just a slice

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

alexsfood

Occasional food reviews and blogs

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

D eats at...

where there's food, there's me!

The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

leanstreak.wordpress.com/

Guilt-free Feasting.

I'd Eat It

For Bold, Budgeted Feeding Machines

whenharrymetcelery.wordpress.com/

A gourmet vegetarian blog

Promenade Plantings

from seed to plate

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

