What to do with the leftover corned beef???

In my last post, “Crock Pot Corned Beef and Cabbage”, I mentioned the need for leftovers. Today’s subject? How to transform those leftovers into other yummy corned beef meals. I enjoy these leftovers more than the original meal, hands down!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The first leftover meal was corned beef and cabbage soup. This started as a thought in the back of my mind, that I wasn’t even sure was going to work. I was very pleasantly surprised at how well it turned out.

In my trusty four quart stock pot, I sauteed three diced cloves of garlic and one chopped yellow onion. I salted the garlic and onions well to help them sweat.

Once they were softened, I added roughly half a pound of the leftover corned beef chopped, four or so of the potatoes chopped, six of the carrots chopped and a nice amount of the cabbage chopped as well. About four or five cups of the cooking broth also went into the pot.

I added a very small amount of sea salt and some cracked ground pepper. Then I let everything simmer over low heat for about thirty minutes so the flavors could marry. For a soup made primarily of leftovers, this dish was really quite tasty!

The next leftover masterpiece was a dairy free reuben sandwich. To start, four slices of pumpernickel rye marble bread. My two favorite breads combined into one!! Gotta love that!

On one side, two tofutti american cheese slices go down. Our house is dairy free, but feel free to use any cheese you like or have in the refrigerator. If you want to go traditional, use swiss cheese.

Next, on the other side, three slices of the leftover corned beef. I sliced some of the corned beef extra thin for just this purpose.

On top of the corned beef goes a generous serving of sauerkraut. This is one of the few times I really enjoy sauerkraut. Otherwise, I can take it or leave it to be honest, but on a reuben…I love it!

Next, some light thousand island dressing. If I had been feeling more energetic, I would have made my own, but this particular Monday I came home with little to no energy. So some store-bought it was. Any thousand island or russian dressing you have on hand will work.

Very carefully, flip the cheese side over onto the corned beef side. Then it got pressed on my George Forman grill for about three minutes until the cheese is nice and melted and everything is warm. This can be done on any indoor grill, panini press or even in a skillet over medium heat on the stove top. The nice thing about the indoor grill is no butter or oil is needed so you save a few calories.

The last of my leftover creations is corned beef hash and eggs. Yes, breakfast for dinner! It is fun to eat breakfast for dinner sometimes, try it!

To begin, I heated about a tablespoon of olive oil in a nine-inch skillet over medium heat on the stove top. Two small diced onions join the olive oil to saute until tender.

While the onion is sauteing, I chopped equal parts of leftover corned beef and potatoes.

Once the onions are tender, the corned beef and potatoes join them in the skillet with some cracked black pepper. Mix well, and brown nicely on all sides.

While the corned beef hash is browning, heat a second nine-inch skillet over medium heat. Spray with some cooking spray, and crack four eggs into the skillet (one for me, three for my hubby). We like ours sunny side up, but cook them however your family prefers.

Scoop some of the corned beef hash onto your plate, top with egg (or eggs) and enjoy! This was by far my favorite leftover meal! Definitely NOT the corned beef hash out of a can you may have been served elsewhere!

About Melissa's Menu

Self-taught home cook. I love being in the kitchen, it brings me happiness and joy. In the kitchen, I can relax and let my creativity flow. View all posts by Melissa's Menu

2 responses to “What to do with the leftover corned beef???

Leave a Reply

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Serena Glow - health, vitality and food

Health, eating for abs, fitness, natural beauty secrets

Kelly's Nutrition Corner

Nutritious food with a delicious taste!

Fly 'n Cook

Cooking can be as much fun as Flying!

The Sister Slice

We can't do it all but we do a lot… here's just a slice

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

alexsfood

Occasional food reviews and blogs

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

D eats at...

where there's food, there's me!

The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

leanstreak.wordpress.com/

Guilt-free Feasting.

I'd Eat It

For Bold, Budgeted Feeding Machines

whenharrymetcelery.wordpress.com/

A gourmet vegetarian blog

Promenade Plantings

from seed to plate

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

