Arroz Con Pollo (Chicken & Rice)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This dish strays from the traditional some, hopefully I do not offend any of my latino friends with my take on it. Sorry guys! This is my best effort, and while it may not be traditional, it was tasty!

To start, in the morning, I took two pounds of boneless skinless chicken thighs (I’m straying already, most traditional recipes call for bone-in chicken) and placed them in a gallon size ziploc bag. They got very generously rubbed with adobo to hang out for the day.

That evening, I heated a couple of tablespoons of olive oil over medium-high heat in the dutch oven. Once hot, the chicken went in to brown well. This takes about twelve minutes or so. Once the chicken is nicely browned, it gets removed to a plate.

While the chicken was browning, I diced two small onions and five cloves of garlic. Once the chicken is removed from the dutch oven, the onions and garlic go in to saute in the drippings. Salt well to help the onions sweat and soften up. Scrape up all the yummy brown bits from the bottom of the pan. Saute about three minutes until the onion are just tender.

Next add in two cups of long grain rice. I used basmati, but any long grain will work here. Cook, stirring constantly, about two minutes. Add one and a quarter cups of dryish white wine. I had a bottle of Niagara in the fridge, so that is what I used. I will only cook with wine I will drink…. I don’t believe in “cooking wine”, if I won’t drink it why would I want to flavor my dish with it? Bring to a  boil over medium heat and boil for about five minutes to give the rice a good start.

It’s now time to add one can of diced tomatoes, two cups of broth (I used chicken, but vegetable would work well too), a generous pinch of saffron (expensive but so well worth it), two packets of sazon, and three to four bay leaves. Nestle the chicken back in among all the other goodies.

Cover and cook over medium-low heat until the rice is tender and the liquid is mostly absorbed. This took about twenty-five to thirty minutes.

Remove from the heat, stir in one cup of peas (frozen work) and once cup of green olives rough chopped. I used plain green olives because it is what I had on hand. I think the green olives stuffed with pimento would have worked fabulously in this dish. At this point, I also seasoned with a small amount of salt, black and white pepper.

Cover and let stand about ten minutes until the liquid is completely absorbed.  Make sure to remove all the bay leaves. Inevitably, I miss at least one and someone gets it.

Do a little happy food dance and enjoy!

About Melissa's Menu

Self-taught home cook. I love being in the kitchen, it brings me happiness and joy. In the kitchen, I can relax and let my creativity flow. View all posts by Melissa's Menu

Leave a Reply

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Serena Glow - health, vitality and food

Health, eating for abs, fitness, natural beauty secrets

Kelly's Nutrition Corner

Nutritious food with a delicious taste!

Fly 'n Cook

Cooking can be as much fun as Flying!

The Sister Slice

We can't do it all but we do a lot… here's just a slice

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

alexsfood

Occasional food reviews and blogs

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

D eats at...

where there's food, there's me!

The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

leanstreak.wordpress.com/

Guilt-free Feasting.

I'd Eat It

For Bold, Budgeted Feeding Machines

whenharrymetcelery.wordpress.com/

A gourmet vegetarian blog

Promenade Plantings

from seed to plate

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

