Every Day Breakfast Smoothie

Looking through some of my old posts yesterday, I realized that many of the breakfasts I have posted are our Sunday Breakfasts. No, I do not eat like this every day! So, today I decided to share my go to breakfast smoothie recipe. One serving of vegetables and three servings of fruit hide within this smoothie. What makes this the perfect every day breakfast? The fact that it is quick, easy, nutritious and delicious!

Breakfast Smoothie 1

The ingredients are kale, banana, kiwi, strawberry, nutritional yeast and plain coconut water. Seasonally, the ingredients may vary some but this is my basic recipe. This smoothie packs a nutritional punch!

Breakfast Smoothie 2

Roughly chop three nice size kale leaves. Kale is high in antioxidants, Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Vitamin C, Vitamin B6, copper, calcium, sodium, potassium, iron, manganese, and phosphorus.

Breakfast Smoothie 3

Slice one banana. In addition to providing a smooth textures, bananas are also high in fiber, antioxidants, Vitamin B6, Vitamin C, copper, magnesium, manganese, and potassium.

Breakfast Smoothie 4

Cut the tops off of six strawberries and cut them in half. Strawberries add antioxidants, B Vitamins, Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Vitamin E, potassium, manganese, fluorine, copper, iron and iodine.

Breakfast Smoothie 5

Remove the skin and cut up one kiwi. Kiwi is a fairly new addition to my morning smoothie, providing high amounts of dietary fiber, Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Vitamin E, Vitamin K, Omega-3 fatty acids, potassium, manganese, iron and magnesium.

Breakfast Smoothie 6

Layer the kale, fruit and one tablespoon of nutritional yeast into a blender. I use my single serving blender to make taking it with me one step easier. Nutritional yeast adds protein, B-vitamins, folic acid, selenium and zinc. It has a mild nutty flavor to it, which works well in smoothies.

Breakfast Smoothie 7

Add in four ounces of coconut water. Coconut water provides simple sugars, electrolytes, and minerals to replenish hydration levels within the body. It also contains enzymes which aid in digestion, Vitamin C, B Vitamins and potassium.

Breakfast Smoothie 8

Start blending.

Breakfast Smoothie 9

When you can no longer see the individual ingredients, your smoothie is ready.

Breakfast Smoothie 10

I know, I know, it is green! Don’t let the color fool you. This smoothie is not only filling and nutritious, it is also delicious. The kale and nutritional yeast balance out the sweetness of the fruit nicely. All that is left is to put the lid on, head out the door and enjoy during my morning commute. When I drink all sixteen ounces of this it keeps me full until lunch time. No need to reach for that mid-morning snack!

About Melissa's Menu

Self-taught home cook. I love being in the kitchen, it brings me happiness and joy. In the kitchen, I can relax and let my creativity flow. View all posts by Melissa's Menu

2 responses to “Every Day Breakfast Smoothie

Leave a Reply

Mrs. Twinkle

My Wonderful Little World

Serena Glow - health, vitality and food

Health, eating for abs, fitness, natural beauty secrets

Kelly's Nutrition Corner

Nutritious food with a delicious taste!

Fly 'n Cook

Cooking can be as much fun as Flying!

The Sister Slice

We can't do it all but we do a lot… here's just a slice

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

Life is Short. Eat hard!

Our Endless Search for Fantastic Food!

alexsfood

Occasional food reviews and blogs

theflexifoodie.wordpress.com/

Delicious plant-based, whole food recipes & my healthy living tips!

D eats at...

where there's food, there's me!

The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It

leanstreak.wordpress.com/

Guilt-free Feasting.

I'd Eat It

For Bold, Budgeted Feeding Machines

whenharrymetcelery.wordpress.com/

A gourmet vegetarian blog

Promenade Plantings

from seed to plate

BunnyandPorkBelly

life is always sweeter and yummier through a lens. bunnyandporkbelly [at] gmail [dot] com

